Login Register
 
Email RSS Feed Twitter Facebook YouTube
Boomba! Review (iOS) More Images
Site Rating:
User Rating:
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)

Boomba! Review (iOS)

*Following recent changes to Boomba!, we have amended this review to reflect the improvements made.*

If there’s one game from the past that works well on a touch screen device, it’s Worms. Setting the trajectory and power of the missiles actually feels more suited to a touch screen than a mouse or joypad. In fact, the essential gameplay of Angry Birds – the most successful mobile game of all time (probably, I didn’t actually look it up) – is based on how intuitive it feels to line up a shot on a touch screen device. A new and original spin on the essential Worms is therefore a great prospect, and Boomba! brings enough new ideas to the genre to make it worth playing.

Boomba!In the singleplayer game, you select a stage and take on a team of robot enemies. Using a selection of different weapons and ammo types tailored to the level, you take turns firing these munitions in an attempt to wipe the other team out. You take a turn, then the robots take one, and choosing the right weapon is the key to success. As well as firing a weapon you can also move a little by tapping in a direction, which will make your cute little character hop around.

Early on though the experience is compromised by some rough presentation. It can be hard to tell what the level you are selecting will involve. You select the team that you will play as, depcited by a little icon, but you don’t know if you’re heading for a snow world, a level thats got water or one on the moon. It’s not so much of an issue once you just accept that wherever the level takes palce you’ll be doing the same thing. Killing robots! Still, a little thumbnail of the level you would play would have been nice

The enemy AI is decent and puts up a good challenge. Figuring out the best way to eliminate as many as you can in one turn is the key to success, and although there’s an element of luck involved, skilled play is rewarded. The little enemy dudes can also be diabolically sneaky too.

Boomba!The games biggest weakness though is it’s visual roughness. The weapons lack the particle effects and visual, visceral impact that even the first Worms game had. It’s attempting a cartoonish aesthetic, but it just doesn’t work and the explosions and weapon effects looks placeholder. Its certainly a stylistic choice, but I still longed for a more effect laden explosion when I hit an enemy. I would even have liked to have seen a more retro, pixelated approach, and have the game look more like the classic Worms or Lemmings. It’s maybe in this area that the game could be refined the most in future, because there’s no real ambition in the visuals. I wanted to set my enemies on fire or dragon punch them with visceral, satisfying results, but instead the effects were more Loony Tunes that Dragon Ball Z. Thankfully, the characterful designs of the teams give the game some character and personality.

There’s about sixty of these teams, and the thought that has gone into creating them is the highlight of the game. Full of little references and nods to popular culture and games, you’ll go through every single one trying to spot all the little funny touches the artists have put in there, and you’ll never find them all. I could list them at length, but I don’t want to spoil the fun you’ll have going through them. I love The Ninja’s though, with their little cute version of Gray Fox, and The Scientists, with one of their members having a goatee, and another wearing an orange jump suit.

When it comes to the actual stages, there’s some clever design. For example, in one level everyone is on high scaffolding above a ground littered with explosive. Your main weapon is the disintegrator beam, and so you spend most of your time trying to make your opponents structure crumple so that the enemy combatants will fall off onto the dangerous terrain below.

Boomba!There’s an unpredictability of the combat that’s fun too, especially in the mutliplayer games. More often than not, the most enjoyable moments are when something unexpectedly lethal happens, either to your own team or to your enemies. Whether it’s missing an enemy but bringing down some blocks on their head, or accidentally wiping out your own little dudes with a misplaced missile, you can’t help but have fun. With local, WIFI and game centre multiplayer, there’s plenty of options for killing your friends. Local is where it’s at for me though, as there’s nothing better than seeing your friends face when you come up with something especially devious.

The physics based environments of Angry Birds combined with the gameplay of Worms proves to be an excellent combination in Boomba!. It can take a while to discover how all the weapons work, but there’s so many of them and they are so deviously clever that experimentation is fun and rewarding.

With clever weapons and well designed levels there’s a lot of fun to be had. With just a bit more visual spectacle and a bit more polish, this could have been essential. As it stands, it’s a fun little title, and once you get used to its quirks it’s one of the most enjoyable multiplayer games you can find on the App Store right now.

Boomba! Review (iOS), 4.0 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

MOAR FROM CALMDOWNTOM!

23 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. 09/15/2014, 2:12 PM

    Is it really just me that has trouble searching for guest
    blogs, looks like most people run them to earn a living
    p.s Never take guidance from people on the Warrior Forums haha

  2. 09/07/2014, 12:28 PM

    Hi, all the time i used to check webpage posts here early in the daylight,
    since i love to find out more and more.

  3. 09/06/2014, 12:19 PM

    That is a great tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Short but very accurate information… Many thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  4. 09/01/2014, 10:22 PM

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after
    going through a few of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  5. 08/31/2014, 8:39 AM

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Many thanks

  6. 08/23/2014, 9:57 PM

    Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information approximately
    this subject for a while and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far.
    However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?

  7. dark spots says
    08/21/2014, 5:39 PM

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right.
    This put up actually made my day. You can not believe just
    how much time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  8. Eloisa says
    08/19/2014, 4:56 PM

    Hi there, of course thiss paragraph is truly fastidious aand I have learned
    llot of things from it regarding blogging. thanks.

  9. 08/12/2014, 2:00 AM

    Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this webpage;
    this blog contains amazing and in fact fine material in favor of visitors.

  10. 08/08/2014, 3:48 PM

    Women especially experience more stress symptoms than men, such as “irritability or anger, fatigue and depression” (ibid.

    He will crush your head, and you will strike his heel.
    The rise in these numbers coincides with the rise of quick
    foods, junk food, and processed food items.

  11. Naomi says
    07/13/2014, 9:02 AM

    You should also look into. According to the privity issue that you are doing.
    At best, the home. Pay close attention to proper locations.
    The abide activity you can determine what unlicensed
    contractors to look at the voting booth. Whatever the needs unlicensed
    contractors of every dollar.

  12. 07/12/2014, 5:15 PM

    I visited many sites but the audio feature for audio songs
    current at this site is in fact marvelous.

  13. 07/11/2014, 3:16 PM

    excellent points altogether, you simply gained a new reader.
    What might you recommend about your post that you simply made a few days ago?
    Any sure?

  14. Samuel says
    03/16/2014, 11:54 PM

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It actually used to be a amusement account
    it. Glance complicated to far brought agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we be in contact?

  15. Randall says
    03/16/2014, 3:35 AM

    My relatives all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, but I know I am getting know-how
    daily by reading such pleasant content.

  16. 03/11/2014, 3:42 AM

    Although Toyota Motor Corporation President Akio
    Toyoda apologized for “the automaker’s global recalls, and promised to beef up quality control by setting up a special committee he would head, himself,” the company that was once known for its quality, is
    now known for just the opposite. LYE series is designed for recycling kinds
    of engine oil used in ships, cars and other vehicles. Due to the hike
    in food, fuel prices and unavailability of credit, people trim down the expenses of their basic necessities as
    well.

  17. 11/09/2013, 6:01 PM

    You really make it seem really easy with your presentation however I find this matter to be actually something that I believe I’d never understand.

    It seems too complex and very huge for me. I’m having a look ahead in your subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

  18. 11/04/2013, 2:25 AM

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like
    this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have
    some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  19. 09/13/2013, 4:49 PM

    Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m
    looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  20. 08/31/2013, 4:58 PM

    Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  21. 07/08/2013, 1:10 PM

    Heya just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let
    you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m
    not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  22. 06/22/2013, 1:41 PM

    If it’s ear and make selections that are not choice, but perfunctory, will meet up with rejection can upset for granted. At times, confusion, as a type of temper of anger, is can balance our inner, easy to understand.

  23. Avatar of
    05/20/2013, 5:32 PM

    Looks great. Will pick this up for sure :)

Leave a Reply

Rate This Item